BIFA - New apprentice category for freight awards

BIFA New apprentice category for freight awards
BIFA New apprentice category for freight awards

The British International Freight Association - BIFA – is to add a new Apprentice of the Year in Logistics category to its annual Freight Service Awards competition.

The new award is sponsored by Outsource Training and Development, a leading provider of innovative training, education and recruitment, and will recognise apprentices who are making a significant contribution to their workplace and shown a dedication to excel in their professional development and learning.

The winner will be the apprentice – or new recruit undergoing similar training with a member company – who in the view of the judges has added the most to their employer's business; who has taken a proactive and innovative approach to their career and are making a significant contribution in their workplace; and has shown a dedication to excel in their professional development and learning.

Judges will look for entries that showcase the difference the named apprentice has made to the organisation. They will want to see hard evidence on which to base their decisions and will be looking for examples that showcase the apprentice’s inspirational qualities, commitment to personal development and the contribution they have made.

In a year in which freight apprenticeships have come to the fore, BIFA anticipates that there will be keen interest in the new award. The Association was instrumental in helping to establish an employer’s ‘Trailblazer’ group, which has seen the launch of a new Level 3 Freight Forwarding Apprenticeship earlier this year.

To enter, candidates must either be currently undertaking, or have completed in the past two years, a professionally recognised apprenticeship framework, or standard in logistics, or freight forwarding.

Entries can be at any apprenticeship level. If undertaking an apprenticeship, the candidate must have completed at least 8 months within the last 12 months (since February 1st 2018).

Nominations must be made by BIFA members who have an apprentice on a recognised apprenticeship framework or standard. They are required to complete the nomination form (available to download from

Entries will not be accepted from individual apprentices themselves.

Entries to the Freight Service Awards, which are now in their 30th year, are currently open and will be hosted by double Olympic champion Dame Kelly Holmes.

BIFA Director General, Robert Keen asks: “Is there a young apprentice in your company who went for gold and delivered a medal-performance for your business? If so, we strongly urge you to put them forward to form part of the starting line-up for the new award.”

He adds: “Like all the BIFA Freight Service Awards, the new Apprentice of the Year category will encourage and reward high standards and professionalism and represent the ultimate recognition of special achievement.”

BIFA’s Freight Service Awards are open to all members of the trade association, which represents UK companies engaged in the international movement of freight by all modes of transport.

Sponsored by a number of blue chip companies, each of the eleven award categories is recognised as very prestigious and winning an award has become more coveted year-on-year. Recruitment Organisation, Corrigan Bentley; has become the eleventh company to join the line-up of category sponsors, following its agreement to sponsor the Ocean Services Award.

Whilst the deadline for entry to the new category is November 9th, companies that wish to enter the other ten categories are reminded that deadline for entry is October 8th. More information can be found on the BIFA website:

The awards ceremony luncheon is an annual event on the industry calendar. This event will take place at The Brewery in London on Thursday January 17th next year when Dame Kelly Holmes will host more than 500 BIFA members and their guests. It will provide a valuable opportunity for attendees to acknowledge the winners as well as networking with people from within the industry.

The BIFA Freight Service Awards are separated into eleven categories, as follows:

General categories

Project Forwarding Award – sponsored by Peter Lole Insurance Brokers - Specialist Services Award – sponsored by Forward Computers

Staff Development Award – sponsored by Albacore Systems - Supply Chain Management Award – sponsored by BoxTop

Modal categories

Air Cargo Services Award – sponsored by IAG Cargo - European Logistics Award – sponsored by TT Club - Ocean Services Award – sponsored by Corrigan Bentley

Specialist categories

Cool award – sponsored by American Airlines Cargo Extra Mile award – sponsored by Descartes .

Individual categories

Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by Outsource Training & Development

Young Freight Forwarder of the Year Award – sponsored by Virgin Atlantic Cargo

Further information relating to entries and luncheon reservations can be obtained by visiting the BIFA website