Biorefining technologies company Chempolis supply three formico biorefineries to Tianjin Jiuqian Paper

Chempolis has signed a licence and EPC agreement with Tianjin Jiuqian Paper Co Ltd. to supply three formico biorefineries, each capable of producing 100,000 t/a of bleached wheat straw pulp. The new plants are scheduled to start up in 2012-2013.

Chempolis' scope of supply will cover formico technology licence and supplying EPC services (engineering, procurement, commissioning and start-up services).

The biorefineries will incorporate Chempolis' latest formicofib technologies, including the formicodeli, formicopure, and formicocont process systems. The value of the order exceeds EUR 60 million.

"Many paper companies are now focusing on solutions that would help save forest resources, and Chempolis' formicofib technology offers an excellent way of refining residual local non-wood biomass into high-quality papermaking fibres and biochemicals," which can be distributed locally too", says Esa Rousu, the President and CEO of Chempolis Ltd.

formicofib is a third-generation effluent-free, low-carbon technology that is self-sufficient in terms of its energy requirement and capable of fully converting cellulosic biomass into a variety of bio-based products. The technology makes use of a new biosolvent and does not need sulphur- or chlorine-based chemicals, which minimises water consumption and enables chemicals and water to be completely recovered.

Chempolis is a leading-edge company in supplying biorefining technologies and production solutions for industrial utilisation based on non-wood and non-food inputs. The two key members of the Chempolis technology family are formicofib, for producing papermaking fibre, and formicobio, for producing bioethanol. Chempolis licenses these technologies and supplies key process systems, as well as customised plant engineering, procurement, and commissioning services.

The signing ceremonies in Beijing were attended by the Finnish President, Tarja Halonen, and the Vice Premier of the State Council of the People's Republic of China, Li Keqiang.